Log In

Visitor Reviews

Testimonials
Articles & Info
Location
"I had flown at the club as a boy and always remembered the experience. I was over the moon when my wife bought me an Aerotow flight for my birthday.

The members were really welcoming to my family, keeping my baby daughter amused whilst we waited for rain to pass.
I had a great first flight using the Aerotow with Terry my instructor. He cheekily wangled a second flight using the scary looking but exhilarating winch launch!

Iā€™d recommend a visit to anyone looking for a great weekend experience."
Duncan Thomas
16th March 2016
"i had the day of my life the instructor mat did a fantastic job and made me feel very safe. if enyone wanted to know whot it was like all i could say is go and try it you wont regret it.( thanks to every one there for a great day i'll be back)"
trevor thornton
6th April 2015
"I enjoyed the experience very much, so much so I shall be back , especially the open day in July. By the way the bacon sandwiches and tea are worth coming back for. We were made very welcome by all the members we met and I must give a special thanks to Terry (I apologise if I have got the name wrong ) my pilot, who let me have a go !"
Ian Booth
25th April 2015
"Enjoyed a super flight with instructor Tony. He was helpful, informative and very professional. All the staff at the club were welcoming. If you are considering taking to the air for the first time I would recommend Burn Flying Club."
Rob Cockroft
26th July 2015
"Thank you so much for the gliding experience for Harry, Emma, and Darren. They all enjoyed it tremendously.

The pilots and club members were brilliant, full of laughs to relax the first time flyers and nothing seemed too much trouble for them!

Brilliant!
šŸ‘"
Alan Clough
19th October 2015
"Spent a fantastic morning with very friendly people, took two flights with Mike who was excellent with information and instruction. Really surprised to be gliding in January, recommend the towed flight and the bacon sandwiches even got to fly the glider,,,...This could be another hobby to add to the list... I will be back"
Tony Wilson
16th January 2016
"Wow what a day! Thank you so much to everyone who was there today who gave Ben a fabulous experience - everyone was so welcoming to the whole family and we all really enjoyed it and learnt lots even though it was only Ben who went up.

Special thanks to the 2 guys who flew with Ben and the fella from Shelf who gave us lots of really interesting information.

A brilliant idea for a birthday present - totally different and Ben hasn't stopped talking about it - he definitely wants to come again."
Benedict Freeman
17th January 2016
"We both had our first glider flight yesterday and really enjoyed it. Keith was a very good instructor and the rest of the team were extremely friendly and helpful
Reaching 2500 feet, the views were spectacular and having the controls for a while was very good fun
Sunday lunch at the Wheatsheaf, just by the club entrance, finished off a really good day
We would highly recommend this experience to all !
Geoff & Ann Brant, Huddersfield, 15.2.2016"
Geoff & Ann Brant
15th February 2016
"My girlfriend bought me a glider voucher for Christmas and i must admit it was a truly brilliant experience.
Everyone at Burn Gliding Club was really friendly and made us feel welcome from start to finish.
A huge thankyou to everyone, including Andrea for her organisation, Terry for his flying expertise, and Chris for helping out with getting ready for take off.
I am already considering another day and I would definitely recommend the experience to anyone."
Aiden Garbutt, Leeds
19th March 2016
"A thrilling experience. I found just watching both entertaining and educational. However, the actual flight itself was something else. The club is run by some wonderfully warm and friendly people who made the day complete.
I can highly recommend Burn Gliding Club and it's activities."
Don Tate
25th March 2016
"Visited @ 1pm on the 23rd April. Came with my brother for the glider winch experience and loved every minute. The launch was some buzz and the instructors were very friendly. Couldn't recommend the experience enough. Thank you

Mark & Andrew, Edinburgh"
Mark Couper
24th April 2016
"My partner bought me a glider aerotow flight for my birthday. We did not know what to expect & I was very nervous. The members were very friendly. Tony spent a lot of time chatting with us & showing us the tow plane engine & controls. My glider pilot Terry was very reassuring & I enjoyed every second of being in the air. The views are stunning, & it's such an exhilarating feeling. I even surprised myself & took the controls. My partner wants a flight now so we'll be returning soon."
Caroline Timms
29th April 2016
"We had a fantastic day. The club made us all very welcome. Everyone was very friendly and willing to explain anything and everything to me as a novice. The flight was superb. It was a wonderful experience and one I would recommend to everyone. Thanks for the special day."
Terry Carter
7th May 2016
"I had 2 flights booked one of each type of take off, once the sky cleared of low cloud we did the winch take off 1st which is an experience in its self!
The team of club members that were there are very knowledgable and friendly and made me feel welcome, Terry was my pilot in the glider for both flights and Tony the club chairman flew the tow plane, all in all a great day out and one more thing of my bucket list!! 10/10.
See Tony I told you I'd leave feed back! ;)"
Neil Oliver
4th June 2016
"I didn't fly but I did take my family to watch my Mum and her partner.

We had such a lovely experience and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. All the staff were lovely and very patient, and a good sense of humour.

My stepson was even allowed to sit in a plane so I could take a picture which he loved.

Thanks again for looking after my Mum who was very nervous.

Hope to see you again soon."
Stacy Millett
19th June 2016
"The team at Burn were as helpful and friendly as you could be they explained everything in detail took us around the hangers the gliders and the club house the flight itself was very professional and we enjoyed every minute thanks to all the team would definitely do again."
John Marshall
26th June 2016
"I had a brilliant afternoon. I was given an aero tow gliding experience by my son as a birthday present. What a super idea. I was taken up by Mike an instructor who helped us to soar to 2,800' once we were in the thermal. I was even encouraged to briefly take the controls, and spot Selby Abbey, look down into a power station chimney and even see York minster in the distance I was made very welcome by Andrea who handles the vouchers and all the gliding club members. Many thanks to all of you."
Joy Lynch
6th July 2016
"My experience was amazing I had a great time flying and the staff and pilots are just so friendly and you can have a really good day out"
Keiran craven
31st July 2016
"It was my first time in a glider taken up by my dad Mike. Great experience to be able to catch some thermals on all our flights. My husband seemed to be the best climber. Granddaughter Lucy loved her flight, despite her nerves!

We recommend the club for anyone who's thought about trying it but has doubts. Everyone is very helpful and understanding."
Victoria Bradburne
10th August 2016
"Fantastic experience, bought as a first lesson experience for me and my two brothers. All the members are clearly very experienced, friendly and more than happy to pass on all their knowledge and obvious passion for flying and what they do with the club.
Massive respect has to go to our instructor, who made us feel totally at ease and safe, even when taking over control of the glider.
I can't recommend this great club and bunch of guys enough.

Andy"
Andrew Mount
14th August 2016
"Thankyou very much, my experience was amazing. I did both Aerotow and Winch and i thoroughly enjoyed each. Everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome. Hope to join and become a member. Highly recommend people to visit."
Emma Marshall
23rd August 2016
"I had a Aerowtow flight this week, amazing. A massive thank you to Mike my instructor, and all the staff at Burn.All the team were very informative, helpful and encouraging!!
What a fantastic experience, highly recommended.Another tick on the bucket list.
I cant wait for my next flight."
Kev Drew
23rd September 2016
"Had a great time this afternoon doing the Glider Aerotow felt very relaxing and enjoyed the views.
Would recommend to anybody to have a go. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming."
Jo Mcmullan
25th September 2016
"Friendly and outgoing instructor team and a great overall experience! Worth coming again!"
Gina
16th October 2016
"I have just done a towed and winched flight for the first time and it is a fantastic experience! Everyone was very welcoming and friendly! Would highly recommend it!"
Ellis Pickard
22nd October 2016
"Fantastic morning, great blokes at the club. Made to feel very welcome. Pilot was great too, (Andy Kitchen). Very relaxed atmosphere from start to finish. Highly recommend this club to anyone wanting to try flying for the first time. I'm definitely going back for another go. I may even have a go with the controls next time! Look out Andy, I will be back!
Thanks again for a fab time x"
Madge
30th October 2016
"Fantastic experience - was very lucky to be taken up by both cable and plane. Nice group of instructors and persons on site, we were made to feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend a glider flight. Thank you very much."
Ian Smith
3rd November 2016
"My experience gliding was amazing! It is an experience I would recommend to everyone."
Tom Woollin
3rd December 2016
"I visited Burn gliding club in the summer after I was given a gift voucher and had a fantastic time!
I was lucky enough to have a go at both the aerotow and the winch launch (so exhilarating!). The team were so enthusiastic about gliding they will happily answer all of your questions and impart some of their knowledge. It was such an exciting and unique experience I'd recommend purchasing a gift voucher for any thrill seeker looking to try something a bit different- it was great fun!"
Alice
19th December 2016
"Hello to all at Burn. I must thank the club, especially Andy, for showing me and my friends around the airfield. It was very special for me as my dad was in 578 Sqn during the war, stationed at RAF Burn. My visit was a couple of years ago, so I've been remiss in not saying thank you before. It meant a lot. Thanks again. Paul Lorraine"
Paul Lorraine
12th February 2017
Get Flying!
Gift Vouchers - flying experience days
Type of flight
Gallery
Burn Gliding Club, The Airfield, Park Lane, Burn, Selby, North Yorkshire, YO8 8LW, United Kingdom
This website is another Evil Monkey House production.